Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Does this look like a good tool for loosening switcharoo toggle nuts?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Parrish, FL
    Posts
    120

    Does this look like a good tool for loosening switcharoo toggle nuts?

    I need to replace my HDT’s switcharoo hardware and saw this on the StewMac site.


    https://img2.stewmac.com/product/ima...ti_Spanner.jpg

    Does it look like the right tool for loosening/tighten the nuts around the four tiny toggle switches?

  2. #2
    tom is offline Supreme Commander of the Anderson Empire
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    thousand oaks, CA
    Posts
    9,940
    that might work, there are 2 11mm flats on the sides. we use an 11mm open end wrench, a polished chrome one.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Parrish, FL
    Posts
    120
    Thanks Tom!

    Are there any diagrams or instructions on switching out the switcharoo pcb/wiring?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,245
    What Tom says. I just hold the 11mm socket in my fingers and turn - I don't even put it into the wrench. There is enough leverage by just holding the socket to tighten (or loosen) those screws more than sufficiently.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Parrish, FL
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by pipedwho View Post
    What Tom says. I just hold the 11mm socket in my fingers and turn - I don't even put it into the wrench. There is enough leverage by just holding the socket to tighten (or loosen) those screws more than sufficiently.
    I tried a socket but the inside edge is beveled(Craftsman) so it was a no go.

  6. #6
    tom is offline Supreme Commander of the Anderson Empire
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    thousand oaks, CA
    Posts
    9,940
    we actually have a nut driver that we modded to make it work. since the nut has only two flats on it, we ground out all but two flats inside the hex. it works great but is a little bit of a job to make. im surprised a regular socket would work with all the flats intact.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,245
    Quote Originally Posted by tom View Post
    we actually have a nut driver that we modded to make it work. since the nut has only two flats on it, we ground out all but two flats inside the hex. it works great but is a little bit of a job to make. im surprised a regular socket would work with all the flats intact.
    It might have been a 12mm that I use. I basically try them the ones around that size in the socket set until one seemed to bite without slipping. I need to check the set to see which one I used when I took the nut off to clean off the tarnish. I know, I know, shining up the nut is probably overkill.

  8. #8
    tom is offline Supreme Commander of the Anderson Empire
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    thousand oaks, CA
    Posts
    9,940
    probably????

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,245
    Quote Originally Posted by tom View Post
    probably????
    It is an Anderson after all!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •